Dean Of Women

The Dean of Women at the University of Nebraska served as the advisor for the AWS and helped to encourage women students to participate in the AWS as well as other campus organizations. Through the AWS' fifty-nine years there were several prominent deans and their names and images are listed and shown below.

Dean of Women

Mary Catherine Graham 1915-17

Amanda Heppner 1918-1938

Elsie Ford Piper* 1939

Helen Hosp 1940-1941

Verna H. Boyles 1942-1946

Marjorie Johnson** 1947-1957

Helen Snyder** 1958-1970


*Held the title of Assistant Dean of Women 

**Held the title of "Associate Dean of Student Affairs"